posted in: News, Uncategorized | 0

The Foundation for Springfield Public Schools awarded 5 outstanding teachers last week with the prestigious Turner Reading Award which recognizes teachers who show an excellence in teaching reading in the classroom and instill in students a love of learning to read.  The Turner Reading Award recipients for 2015 are Bethany Hubbell of Jeffries Elementary, Diane Courtney of Robberson Community School, Holly Roesener of Sunshine Elementary, Katie Scholz of Jarrett Middle School and Nancy Hall of Bissett Elementary.

This will mark the 14th year for the Turner Reading Awards, established and supported by the Turner family of Springfield.  β€œThis award means so much to each teacher who receives it.  It is a way for teachers to know that what they do each day in the classroom does not go unnoticed or unappreciated.  The Turner family has gone above a beyond to support literacy in our district and we are so grateful for that generosity” said Natalie Murdock, Executive Director of the Foundation for SPS.  The awards include a cash prize for all five winning teachers and their schools and is managed and administered by the Foundation for Springfield Public Schools.