The banquet originally started as the Teacher Appreciation Banquet in 1994 and sponsored by the Foundation for Springfield Public Schools, Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce, Springfield Council of PTAs, and spear headed by David Harrison. The event recognized educators for their continued commitment to our kids and our community. The idea behind the evening of celebration and thanks came from the realization that the community and our educators need to come together.

For 30 years, educators have been honored, supported and thanked through the banquet. Without the support of our whole community, the Celebrate SPS Banquet would not be possible. Without the amazing educators and staff in our district, there would be no need for this event.




The Celebrate SPS Banquet serves as a fundraiser for the Foundation for SPS in order to provide support for our programs and initiatives with Springfield Public Schools. At the banquet, we recognize community partners, educators and staff for their commitment to education in SPS.

Awards recognized at the banquet include:

  • Turner Reading Awards
  • Linda Luke Librarian of the Year
  • Advocate for Education
  • Corporate Partner of the Year
  • Malori McGhee Rookie of the Year
  • Counselor of the Year
  • and Teacher of the Year!

One way we demonstrate our appreciation for educators is by not charging SPS schools to attend our events like ‘Celebrate SPS.’ However, this means we heavily rely on sponsorships to help fund our mission of enhancing public education initiatives. By sponsoring our event, you’re not only celebrating educators in SPS but also directly supporting our efforts to provide invaluable resources and opportunities for students and teachers. Your generosity plays a crucial role in ensuring the success and sustainability of our programs.