2020 Turner Reading Award Recipients

posted in: News | 0

The Foundation for Springfield Public Schools (FSPS) is honored to announce this year’s recipients of the Turner Reading Awards.

  • Michelle Conroy, Wanda Gray Elementary
  • Lauren Norris, Westport K-8
  • Lori Willard, Holland Elementary
  • Breann Darnell, Truman Elementary
  • Hannah Dunville, Portland Elementary

Each recipient demonstrated excellence in teaching reading and literature in the classroom, and instilled a love of learning to read in their students. The recipients will receive a cash prize for themselves and their schools.

The Turner Reading Award was established in 2002 by the Turner Family of Springfield with the purpose of recognizing outstanding reading teachers in Springfield Public Schools (SPS). This will be the 19th year it has been awarded.

“Reading is important in the lives of our SPS students and we are thankful to the Turner Family for helping us award this honor to our reading teachers,” said Natalie Murdock, Executive Director of the Foundation for SPS. “We are very appreciative of their excellent and dedicated work to engage their students. They are the ones shaping education and future leaders of our community.”

Recipients will be recognized at our annual Celebrate SPS Banquet on Monday, August 31 at the Oasis Convention Center, 5:30 pm. To attend the banquet and celebrate the Turner Award Recipients and the rest of SPS, visit  www.supportsps.org/celebrate-sps/ to purchase tickets.